A Hero’s Sonnet

excalibur

Once my inner self did flee,
My interior castle’s gates were shut.
Then you found me,
Encouraging a coward from their miserable rut.

A terrifying journey ensues,
Until my fear gradually changes expression.
Upon the path of courage I relentlessly choose,
Through murky mires I make my progression.

Once I did distressingly mourn,
As inner warfare did painfully rage.
Until a new interior herald was born,
Breaking free from his maddening cage.

“I draw the sword of bravery, deciding that I will never fade,”
“Now let’s journey – for new heroes must be made.”


© M. Keith Sartin, Jr.

Leave a Reply

