Haiku – A Being Motif

snowflake

As evident by many of my recent posts, grief has been a reoccurring theme within me that I have been unraveling during Lent season. Poetry therapy, among other interventions, has been therapeutic for me to process complex emotions.  In this post, I wanted to write a haiku using the seventeen syllable method (five syllables in line one, seven syllables in line two, and  five syllables in line three).  I found it useful because it challenged me to intentionally embed a lot of meaning in a few words. As a “being motif” I believe that human beings are sacred and are imbued with a mosaic of artistic themes by their Creator. We have more beauty, complexity, and resources than we realize.

The seasons of grief –
Have struggles of unbelief,
Love yourself, a being motif.


© M. Keith Sartin, Jr.

photo credit: chaoticmind75.blogspot.com (blog graphics) Icy Jewel new ds320 via photopin (license)

Leave a Reply

